Skip to content

Operational power stations

We regulate the UK's 15 civil nuclear reactors, which consist of 14 Advanced Gas-cooled Reactors (AGR) and one Pressurised Water Reactor (PWR) operated by EDF. 

Three of these have ceased generating; Hunterston B, Hinkley Point B and Dungeness B, all of which have begun defueling,  which is the last phase of operations before the start of decommissioning.

We promote improvements in all aspects of nuclear safety by delivering a proportionate, integrated and targeted regulatory approach. This includes undertaking fleet wide interventions to promote relevant good practice in all areas, giving permission for key pieces of work to take place on the site and undertaking periodic safety reviews at each of the sites every ten years.

We also engage with a wide range of stakeholders, including the public, through each of the nuclear power station's Site Stakeholder Groups. Under a presumption of disclosure, we are committed to placing in the public domain as much information as possible about regulatory activities.