Office for Nuclear Regulation

This website uses non-intrusive cookies to improve your user experience. You can visit our cookie privacy page for more information.

ONR committees

The Board will maintain four standing committees.Terms of reference for these committees can be found in the annexes of the ONR's Corporate Governance document.

Audit and Risk Assurance Committee (ARAC)

The ARAC Committee is responsible for ensuring the maintenance of appropriate and adequate audit processes, and for the governance of the internal and external audit programmes. On behalf of the ONR Board, the Committee has oversight of ONR's risk management processes. The Audit Committee is chaired by a non-executive member of the Board.

Clifford Shanbury was also appointed as an independent member of the Audit and Risk Assurance Committee on 19 March 2012, and has recently had his appointment extended to 30 September 2019.

Remuneration Committee

The Remuneration Committee has oversight over all matters relating to the remuneration and performance. The Remuneration Committee is chaired by an ONR non-executive Board member.

Nominations Committee

The Nominations Committee provides a formal, rigorous and transparent procedure for the appointment of new members to the Board. It leads the process for Board appointments and makes recommendations to the Board in this regard. The Nominations Committee is chaired by the ONR Chair.

Security Committee

The Security Committee is responsible for providing assurance to the Board on ONR's effectiveness in regulating to secure the protection of people and society from risks to the civil nuclear industry due to malicious intent. It is a standing Committee of the ONR Board and chaired by a non-executive member of the Board. It is empowered by the Board to make recommendations on any amendments necessary to ONR's capability, capacity or vires identified to ensure ONR is able to deliver its duty in relation to security regulation and respond effectively to any security regulatory challenges that occur. The Committee is chaired by an ONR non executive board member.